Our ClubMembership InformationTournament ResultsAOY StandingsArchive
MembersTips, Techniques, and Links2024 Tournament Schedule

Minutes of Tallahassee Bass Anglers Meeting
June 21, 2016

Attendance: Doug Willard, Chris Edrington, Les Shope, Don Gainey, Dick Durbin, Billy Owens, Rick Johnson, John Vickers, Mike Thomas, John Waugh, Bryce Harvery, Brent Zapata, Kevin Copland, John Rudolph
Meeting called to order by President Les Shope at 7:30 PM.
Meeting Agenda was presented and approved (1st Dick Durbin, 2nd Rick Johnson)

Minutes of from the 6/7/16 meeting were approved as posted (1st Rudolph, 2nd Dick Durbin)

Financial report was reported as follows by Treasurer Chris Edrington
Cash: $105
Bank: $3060.16
Accounts receivable: $110
Credits: $1828.37
Total: $1446.79
Top Ten Pot:$140.00

Financial report was approved (Motion to approve Dick Durbin, 2nd John Vickers)  

New Business:

Dick Durbin gave an update on spraying on Lake Talquin and Lake Jackson. He has been in contact with Tom Champeau, Director, Division of Freshwater Fisheries Management, FWC. Mr. Champeau sent Mr. Durbin an email that stated the damage to spatterdock was not the result of spraying. The spatterdock is currently suffering from a leaf beetle infestation. Mr. Champeau also indicated he would like to follow up with the club soon regarding an initiative they have started to expand High School Fishing Clubs. He noted they have received a grant from the Recreational Boating and Fishing Foundation. The grant will be used to cover start up, insurance, and fund raising plans.  

Les Shope also noted that he had received a follow up email from Ted Alferman at FWC reiterating much of what Mr. Champeau had stated in his email concerning the leaf beetle problem.

Everyone was reminded that new bass regulations begin July 1st.

Dollar Pot was won by Kevin Copland

Mike Thomas reviewed AOY standings.

The draw was held for the upcoming Lake Talquin tournament. John Vickers asked to be exempt from pairing with a nonboater as he has a pending death in the family and is unsure about arrangements. This was approved.

Draw results were as follows:
Brent Zapata-John Waugh
John Rudolph-Bryce Harvey
Don Gainey-Dallas Johnson
Kevin Copland-Marty Spears
Les Shope-John Vickers
Mike Thomas-Chris Edrington
Dick Durbin-Bobby Yakin
Rick Johnson-Doug Willard

Tournament will be held from safe daylight until 4.

Brent Zapata asked for clarification on the rules regarding fishing with multiple clubs. Rules Chairman John Vickers reported that the rule was still in place that club members were not permitted to fish multiple, local fishing clubs. Les Shope mentioned that this does not apply to local tournaments or trails.

Meeting adjourned at 7:55 (motion Dick Durbin, 2nd Rick Johnson)